I’ve been here a month and what I miss the most is 10p noodles

Any photo’s from our invasion of Sweden are here. Click…

Hmm.
Trying to work out how true that statement is, in the title…

If you asked me last year it’d be basics fish fingers, but I’ve gave them up for a year, so noodles is the food of choice. It is a slight lie though, I do miss a lot of people, and they know who they are and I don’t fancy writing long lists of names heh.

So yeah anyway, we invaded Sweden the other day. We came armed with sandwiches (varying from salami to cheese and ketchup) and lots of camera’s. We left with burgers and knowledge that no-one drinks in Sweden. No-one at all. At any point it seems. Ok that’s a slight exaggeration, but hear this – when I left my house at 1030 the first person I see is crossing the road, casually sipping a bottle of beer. Lest not forget, this is 1030. Heavy.

The first thing that surprised me I suppose was the lack of erm, Sweden flags. Not like I saw a massive one in Denmark (there was a small one in the station mind) but it took a severe length of time to actually see a Swedish flag. It might have something to do with the town that we visited, Malmo, was Danish 300 years ago? Maybe. Or maybe they just aren’t big on flags. I just wanted a bit more of a WELCOME TO SWEDEN YAH feel. Disappointed…

But the place really is beautiful (overused, but at least I’m not saying “cute”), and our main aim was to get to the beach. It took SO long to get there but somehow we tactically timed it so we arrived at sunset. Standard. It’s not like we had a reason to take so long though, I mean considering we arrived at around 1130ish. We just.. wandered. Saw the oldest building in Malmo. Saw a place where you could get a coffee and a muffin for 9kr (bargain). Saw a really cool street of shops. Me and Elizabeth also saw a building lying down. Well we just lay down in front of the Turning Torso to take pictures of it, since it’s the tallest building in Scandinavia (fact.) we thought we’d get a better view. Didn’t feel strange at all, and I’m sure the lady who walked past us to take a picture for herself wished she was 20years younger so she too could experience the feeling of laying flat on concrete in the middle of a random city. Standard.

And my gosh did we see a heluva lot of well dressed people. coughfittoocough.

And course since we were History students we had to size up the castle. Or whatever that thing they thought was a castle because it was terrible. I don’t think I even took a picture it was that bad – and I have a picture of a PIZZA don’t forget. 1/10. Could do better. More castle reviews coming soon obviously? (Stop thinking I’m joking). It was pretty much a quality day, and it only takes 40mins to get to Sweden from my house. It’s cheaper over there too, so if I grow some flowing locks and a sudden admiration for the colour pink… I’d go over there to shop. We didn’t just spend our trip killing time though, we visited a really cool cathedral – we do tend to visit these wherever we go but there is something kind of cool about the buildings. Also, I don’t even like the sun (but we get so much of it here, hello lancaster…) so being out in gardens doesn’t really impress me, but we visited some really nice gardens. I could literally do this forever – but then there is this slight issue of a 10,000 word essay I need to write…

When I wasn’t invading faraway lands… I was involved in a workers rights day? Literally after a fonecall from Jake stumbling on a field with around 5000 people if not more, political speeches, communist flags and EVERYONE DRINKING APART FROM ME. Oh wow. So we left the park for a bit, I hoped home to get some money for a crate… ring the others to find out they have no signal. So I couldn’t get back. Bad times. It was fun whilst I was there though, so many people just chilling out. Here was me thinking they were randomly celebrating that it was Mayday heh. People were queueing to get into 7-11. Queueing. One in, one out. For a corner shop. Like central.

Ridiculous!

I think its time for a quiet month now, mind. We’ve all spent lots, and now it’s slowly dawning on us that this 10,000 word essay isn’t going to write itself. Hell, writing the number is quite scary in itself, I thought 4000 was alot. I suppose our dissertations will seem like nothing after this. Six weeks from now until it has to be handed in, and preferably I want it done before everyone’s visitors start arriving. Hah. Anyway, off to watch FC Copenhagen at the national stadium today, now this should be fun.

It’s really odd to think that I’ve been here a month. It honestly does feel like I’ve been here longer, though I imagine I’ve already missed loads back in Lancaster. I’ve settled really well I reckon, and I don’t get homesick so I’m fine there. I do get peoplesick mind… so should be awesome if I make it back for extrav… Although if I do make it back I’ll probably be running away from the police after I perform an incredible bank heist.

I checked my bank balance today.
That was not for the best.


About this entry